In the United States, the age of consent is the minimum age at which a
person is considered legally of age to consent to participate in sexual acts.
In Maryland, the age of consent is 16 years old. This means that any two people who are 16 years of age or older each
may consent to have sex with each other, regardless of the age disparity
between them. Furthermore, individuals between the ages of 14 and 16 may
consent to sexual intercourse as long as the other partner is no more
than four years older.
However, this law applies differently if the older partner is in a position
of authority or trust over the younger partner. This might include:
In such instances, the age of consent is typically 18 or 21, depending
on the situation.
Penalties of Statutory Rape in Maryland
statutory rape is considered a felony offense and is punishable by:
- Prison time
- Monetary fines
- Registration as a sexual offender.
Accused of Statutory Rape in Maryland? Call Us Now.
If you have engaged in sexual intercourse with an underage minor and feel
you may be subject to criminal prosecution or if you have been accused
of such, it is imperative to consult with a Salisbury criminal defense
attorney right away. Our team can explain your legal options and help
you avoid criminal penalties.
If you were arrested for a criminal offense in Maryland,
contact a Salisbury criminal defense attorney at
William R. Hall, P.A. for a
free consultation today.