Maryland DWI License Suspension
Protect Your Rights & Future with the Experienced Legal Help of a Salisbury License Suspension Attorney
Driver’s license suspension is a common punishment for those convicted of a DWI/DUI. In addition, your license is also subject to suspension in the event of a DUI/DWI arrest! Since most drivers often rely on their vehicle to commute to work, attend classes at school, or conduct day-to-day activities, it is critical to obtain legal assistance in order to get your driving privileges back.
As your Salisbury license suspension lawyer, I am committed to protect your rights and aggressively defend you against serious charges. I understand how important it is to have the ability to drive your vehicle, which is why I will do everything it takes to get your back on the road as soon as possible.
Facing driver's license suspension? Contact us today to start discussing your options.
My License Was Confiscated by the Arresting Officer, What Should I Do?
If your license was taken away due to a DUI/DWI arrest, you must’ve been issued a “temporary driver’s license,” which enables you to continue driving for 45 days. Unless you request a hearing with the Office of Administrative Hearings within 10 days to guarantee an extension, or 30 days to guarantee a hearing, your license will be suspended after the 45th day.
The fee to request a hearing is $150. You will then be notified of the date and time of your hearing by mail.
If you do not succeed at your hearing or fail to request one, you will have your license suspended for:
- Refusing a chemical test
- First offense – License suspension for 270 days or Ignition Interlock Device for one year
- Second offense – License suspension for two years
- Failing a chemical test
- First and second offense – 180 days
Keep in mind, administrative penalties are separate from criminal penalties. If convicted of a first-offense DWI, you are subject to a maximum license suspension of six months. If convicted of a second-offense, then it is a 12-month license suspension.
Driving on a suspended license is punishable by a maximum jail sentence of one year and a fine of up to $1,000.
I've Got a Suspended License-What Now?
If you take a chemical test to determine your BAC level and fail it, or if you refuse to take the test, the police officer will confiscate and suspend your Maryland driver’s license, issue a paper temporary license, and prepare a case for the Maryland MVA file. If you possess a commercial driver’s license (CDL), the MVA will suspend your license and may disqualify your driving privilege.
You may receive the following documents after a DWI arrest:
- Officer’s Certification and Order of Suspension – The form details information about the arrest, the pending suspension and provides whether or not you performed a chemical test. If your driver’s license was confiscated, the driver copy acts are your temporary license. The reverse side of the driver copy will provide information regarding the Ignition Interlock Program.
- Advice of Rights Form – The form provides the administrative sanctions associated with your driving privilege in Maryland. It also points out additional penalties that may be administered, and your ability to opt into the Ignition Interlock Program.
Once your license is suspended, you may request an Administrative Hearing at any time within 30 days of the date of the Order of Suspension to “show cause” why your driver’s license should not be suspended. You need to request a hearing within 10 days of the date of the Order of Suspension to make sure that your driving privilege is not suspended before your hearing. If you fail to request a hearing within 10 days of the date of the Order of Suspension, your driver’s license will be suspended on the 45th day after the order.
Your hearing request needs to be made in writing. The reverse side of the hearing request copy details information and a form to request an administrative hearing. Send your request to the Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH). You must also include a check or money order for the filing fee, made payable to the “Maryland State Treasurer.”
Call (410) 205-1684 to Schedule a Free Initial Consultation
With more than 20 years of legal experience, I have successfully handled thousands of DUI/DWI cases. Do not risk losing your driving privileges without putting up a fight with my help.
If you are facing license suspension, contact my criminal defense firm and discuss your legal options today.
20+ Years of Experience
Attorney William R. Hall is backed by over two decades of experience
AV Preeminent® Rating
Rated by Martindale-Hubbell® for Professional Excellence & Ethical Standards
10.0 "Superb" Rating
Rated a perfect 10.0 "Superb" by Avvo for experience & professionalism
Personalized, trial-tested insights for your defense
Top 100 Trial Lawyers
Recognized as one of the National Trial Lawyers: Top 100 Trial Lawyers
Top 1% of Attorneys
Voted by National Association of Distinguished Counsel