What Crimes Require a Sex Offender Registration?
In addition to prison time and fines, if you are convicted of a sex crime in Maryland, you are required to register as a sex offender. According to federal law, it is mandatory for each state to create and maintain sex registries to monitor those convicted of specific sex offense.
In response to the federal registry requirements, Maryland enacted its statewide sex registry in 2011. This registry breakdown sex crimes in three tiers and applies retroactively.
What are the Tier Levels?
The following are the three tiers of Maryland’s sex offender registry:
- Tier 3 – Sex offenses which require registration every three months for life
- Tier 2 – Sex offenses which require registration every six months for 25 years
- Sexual solicitation of a minor
- Distributing or manufacturing child pornography
- Human trafficking or pandering
- Abduction of a child for prostitution
- Third-degree sex offenses (not involving force, incapacitation, or threats)
- Tier 1 – Sex offenses which require registration every six months for 15 years
- Possession of child pornography
- Visual surveillance with prurient intent
- Fourth-degree sex offenses
- Certain federal crimes which are not offenses in Maryland
What are the Penalties For Failing to Register as a Sex Offender?
Knowingly failing to register or to provide necessary information or notices, or knowingly providing false information, is considered a misdemeanor offense that is punishable by a maximum prison sentence of three years and fines of up to $5,000 for the first violation. Subsequent violations are felonies, punishable by a maximum prison sentence of five years and fines of up to $10,000.