Maryland Age of Consent Law
In Maryland, the age of consent is 16 years old. This means that any two people who are 16 years of age or older each may consent to have sex with each other, regardless of the age disparity between them.
In the United States, the age of consent is the minimum age at which a person is considered legally of age to consent to participate in sexual acts. Furthermore, individuals between the ages of 14 and 16 may consent to sexual intercourse as long as the other partner is no more than four years older.
However, this law applies differently if the older partner is in a position of authority or trust over the younger partner.
This might include:
In such instances, the age of consent is typically 18 or 21, depending on the situation.
Facing accusations? Contact us for your free consultation!
Penalties of Statutory Rape in Maryland
In Maryland, statutory rape is considered a felony offense and is punishable by:
- Prison time
- Monetary fines
- Registration as a sexual offender.
Seek Representation From William R. Hall, P.A.
If you have engaged in sexual intercourse with an underage minor and feel you may be subject to criminal prosecution or if you have been accused of such, it is imperative to consult with a Salisbury defense attorney right away.
Our team can explain your legal options and help you avoid criminal penalties.