DWI vs. DUI in Maryland
Get Answers from a Salisbury Criminal Defense Attorney
While many people use the terms
driving while impaired (DWI) and driving under the influence (DUI) interchangeably to refer to the
act of drunk driving, in the state of Maryland, these are treated as separate offenses.
While these charges are similar in nature and are often charged at the
same time, these offenses can carry different penalties upon conviction.
Regardless of the specifics, any type of drunk driving charge is a serious
matter and must be handled by an experienced attorney in order to be successfully
William R. Hall, have been protecting the rights of individuals charged with DWI and DUI
throughout Salisbury and the surrounding areas for more than 20 years.
Having earning a Superb Avvo Rating and a ranking among the Top 1% of
Attorneys voted by the National Association of Distinguished Counsel for
my firm’s unparalleled advocacy and skills, I understand the laws
and regulations which influence your situation and can provide the aggressive
representation you need to minimize your chances of conviction.
Call (410) 205-1684 or
contact my office online today to get started towards building your defense.
Penalties for DWI and DUI
DWI and DUI are both charges the state of Maryland can bring against someone
accused of drunk driving. Motorists who register a blood alcohol concentration
of 0.07% or higher can be charged with DWI, while those with a BAC of
0.08% or higher can be charged with DUI. As such, DUI charges are the
more serious of the two. While prosecutors may charge a defendant with
both DUI and DWI at the same time, a defendant may only be convicted of
one of these charges. If convicted of DUI, the DWI charge will be merged
into the DUI charge. Conversely, defendants convicted of DWI may not be
convicted of DUI as the elements of DWI fall short of those for DUI. As
such, DUI charges are essentially a more serious DWI.
A first-offense DWI conviction can carry the following penalties:
- Up to 60 days in jail
- Up to $500 in fines
- 8 driver’s license points
- Maximum 6 month license suspension
Penalties for a first-offense DUI conviction are more serious:
- Up to 1 year in jail
- Up to $1,000 in fines
- 12 driver’s license points
- Driver’s license revocation up to 6 months
These penalties can be increased significantly if a driver has previous
drunk driving convictions, as well as in situations where a minor child
is in the vehicle at the time of arrest. It is also important to remember
that drivers under age 21 can be charged with DUI for a BAC of just 0.02%.
Get Attorney Hall on Your Side
Given the severe consequences of drunk driving charges and the lasting
damage that a criminal conviction can inflict to your reputation, if you
have been charged with DUI or DWI, it is vital you get in touch with a
powerful lawyer as soon as possible to guard your wellbeing. As a former
prosecutor, I understand the common strategies the state will use to secure
your conviction and can use my experience to counter the opposition’s
moves in advance, allowing me to maximize your chances of success. With
responsive and honest communication at all times throughout the duration
of your case, my firm has what it takes to help you get through this difficult
time with your honor and future intact.
Discuss your charges in detail with a Salisbury DWI/DUI lawyer during a