Penalties associated with criminal convictions conjure images of spending years behind bars or paying thousands of dollars to the state. While this may be the norm and certainly damaging to a person’s wellbeing, people convicted of sex crimes in Maryland actually face what could arguably the harshest punishment of all: mandatory sex offender registration.
How the Sex Offender Registry Functions
Any sex crime conviction in Maryland will include sex offender list registry. It doesn’t matter if the person is convicted for rape or indecent exposure, they will be added to the registry. However, they will be sorted into three tiers based on their sentencing.
Convicted sex offenders sorted into tier 1 must remain on the registry for at least 15 years; they must also resubmit their identifying and personal information once a year. Tier 2 offenders are required to register twice a year for at least 25 years. Tier 3 is the most extreme, requiring lifetime registration that is verified through reregistration every three months.
Some of the personal information necessary at registration includes:
- Name with current photograph and age
- Personal address
- Place of employment or school attended
- Description of crime
- Vehicle information
Not everyone who registers will have their information immediately posted to the public, but a person of the public can obtain any registrant’s information if they so choose. Many employers, landlords, or educational institution officials can deny applications based on sex offender registration if they believe it is necessary for everyone’s safety. Additionally, registrants that move into a new neighborhood may be required to notify neighbors of their registration.
Failing to Register is a Crime
Maryland also considers the act of failing to register, or knowingly submitting incomplete or falsified information, to be a serious crime. Registration or reregistration can be considered “late” if it is not submitted to the Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services within just three days of the original filing date. Convictions for failing to register can include up to three years of imprisonment and a $5,000 fine.
When everything is considered, convicted sex offenders are slammed with harsh penalties that many people believe to be far too harsh. In order to remove registration requirements, a strong and experienced criminal defender is necessary. If you need a Salisbury sex crimes attorney by your side to help you through this trying time, look to William R. Hall, P.A. for help. We have nearly 20 years of legal experience and are led by a former prosecutor, which puts unmatched insight and intuition in your corner.