Penalties associated with criminal convictions conjure images of spending
years behind bars or paying thousands of dollars to the state. While this
may be the norm and certainly damaging to a person’s wellbeing,
people convicted of
sex crimes in Maryland actually face what could arguably the harshest punishment
of all: mandatory sex offender registration.
How the Sex Offender Registry Functions
Any sex crime conviction in Maryland will include sex offender list registry.
It doesn’t matter if the person is convicted for rape or indecent
exposure, they will be added to the registry. However, they will be sorted
into three tiers based on their sentencing.
Convicted sex offenders sorted into tier 1 must remain on the registry
for at least 15 years; they must also resubmit their identifying and personal
information once a year. Tier 2 offenders are required to register twice
a year for at least 25 years. Tier 3 is the most extreme, requiring lifetime
registration that is verified through reregistration every three months.
Some of the personal information necessary at registration includes:
- Name with current photograph and age
- Personal address
- Place of employment or school attended
- Description of crime
- Vehicle information
Not everyone who registers will have their information immediately posted
to the public, but a person of the public can obtain any registrant’s
information if they so choose. Many employers, landlords, or educational
institution officials can deny applications based on sex offender registration
if they believe it is necessary for everyone’s safety. Additionally,
registrants that move into a new neighborhood may be required to notify
neighbors of their registration.
Failing to Register is a Crime
Maryland also considers the act of failing to register, or knowingly submitting
incomplete or falsified information, to be a serious crime. Registration
or reregistration can be considered “late” if it is not submitted
to the Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services within just
three days of the original filing date. Convictions for failing to register
can include up to three years of imprisonment and a $5,000 fine.
When everything is considered, convicted sex offenders are slammed with
harsh penalties that many people believe to be far too harsh. In order
to remove registration requirements, a strong and experienced criminal
defender is necessary. If you need a Salisbury sex crimes attorney by
your side to help you through this trying time, look to William R. Hall,
P.A. for help. We have nearly 20 years of legal experience and are led
by a former prosecutor, which puts unmatched insight and intuition in
Contact us today and ask about getting a
free initial consultation!